Torridge District Council's Constitution sets out how the Council operates, how decisions are made and the procedures which are followed to ensure that these are efficient, transparent and accountable to local people. Some of these processes are required by the law, while others are a matter for the Council to choose.



The Council is composed of 36 Councillors elected every four years. Councillors have a unique opportunity to make a difference to their community and to help share, direct and monitor services which affect the people that live in, work in, and visit Torridge.

All Councillors must agree to abide by the National Code of Conduct which sets very high standards in the way duties are undertaken.  The Standards Committee, which consists of seven elected Councillors, two Town/Parish Council representatives, is responsible for promoting and maintaining these standards.

If you require any information please contact Democratic Services Tel: 01237 428703 email dem.services@torridge.gov.uk